City of South Haven

Municipality Officials


Scott Smith

Mayor Pro-Tem Ward 2

Clark Gruber 

City Manager

Brian Dissette

Council Member Ward 2

Chris Campbell

Council Member Ward 3

Steve Schlack

Council Member Ward 3

George Sleeper

Council Member Ward 1

   Letitia Wilkins

Council Member Ward 1

   Joe Reeser

City Clerk

   Travis Sullivan

City Assessor

Michele Argue

Deputy City Assessor

Connie Phillips

City Planner / Zoning Administrator

Linda Anderson

City Hall Offices

539 Phoenix Street

South Haven, MI 49090

(269) 637-0700

City Council Meetings

Date:  1st and 3rd Mondays Every Month

Time:  7:30 PM

Where:  City Council Chambers of City Hall

The Monroe's - South Haven's First Family

Welcome to South Haven

J.R. Monroe was the founder of South Haven, Michigan. He was granted a land patent from the U.S. Government in 1833 for 65 acres along Lake Michigan's shores. Soon after, he married Fannie Rawson and the newlyweds traveled by lumber wagon to live in a log cabin that Monroe had previously built. The village that Monroe had envisioned did not develop at this time and the newlyweds moved to Lawrence, Michigan. It was not until the 1850's that the original pioneers settled at this location.
It was C.J. Monroe, son of J.R. Monroe, that settled at South Haven, building and raising a family at what is now known as Monroe Manor. C.J. was also president of the town bank, now known as Clementine's Restaurant. He also served as Secretary of Agriculture for the state of Michigan. Mr. Monroe also contributed to the planning and execution of the Chicago World's Fair.

Permit Application Downloads

(requires Adobe Reader)

Electrical Permit Application (front)
Electrical Permit Application (back)


web page hosted by: